Residency

Medical students interested in Radiation Oncology as a career choice are encouraged to arrange electives at one of the 13 Canadian universities and affiliated cancer centres. We have included a list of Canadian Radiation Oncology training programs with Program Director contact information below for your information.  For information visit CaRMS to view program descriptions.

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) has compiled a specialty profile on their Becoming a Physician page, including Radiation Oncology. This information is helpful for candidates considering Radiation Oncology as a residency choice.

The Royal College has compiled training requirements for residency in Radiation Oncology. Dr. Brian O’Sullivan (University of Toronto) also has a helpful presentation on the Royal College examinations.

Canadian Radiation Oncology Training Programs

University of British Columbia

Dr. Hannah Carolan
BC Cancer Agency
600 West 10th Avenue
Vancouver BC V5Z 4E3
hcarolan@bccancer.bc.ca

University of Alberta, Edmonton

Dr. Brock Debenham
debenham@ualberta.ca

University of Calgary, Calgary

Dr. Shaun Loewen
shaun.loewen@albertahealthservices.ca

University of Manitoba, Winnipeg

Dr. Aldrich Ong
Department of Radiation Oncology
ON3246 CancerCare Manitoba
675 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3E 0V9
aldrich.ong@cancercare.mb.ca

University of Western Ontario, London

Dr. Tracy Sexton
Department of Radiation Oncology Room
A3-805
London Regional Cancer Center
790 Commissioners Road East
London ON   N6A 4L6
tracy.sexton@lhsc.on.ca

McMaster University, Hamilton

Dr. Barbara Strang
Juravinski Cancer Centre
Third Floor
699 Concession Street
Hamilton ON L8V 5C2
strang@hhsc.ca

University of Toronto, Toronto

Dr. Andrea Bezjak
UHN – Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
610 University Avenue
Toronto, Ontario, M5G 2M9
andrea.bezjak@rmp.uhn.ca

Queen’s University, Kingston

(This program is accredited as an inter-university program and includes a mandatory rotation at the University of Toronto for the completion of training).

Dr. Maria Kalyvas
Radiation Oncology
Cancer Centre of Southeastern Ontario
25 King Street West
Kingston ON K7L 5P9
Maria.Kalyvas@krcc.on.ca

University of Ottawa, Ottawa

(This program is accredited as an interuniversity program and includes a mandatory rotation at the University of Toronto for the completion of training).

Dr. Bernd Esche
The Ottawa Hospital Regional Cancer Centre
Department of Radiology
501 Smyth Road

Box 902
Ottawa ON   K1H 8L6
besche@ottawahospital.on.ca

McGill University, Montreal

Dr. Joanne Alfieri
Cedars Cancer Centre
1001 Decarie Blvd.
Room DS1.4569
Montréal QC H4A 3J1
joannealfieri@muhc.mcgill.ca

Université de Montréal, Québec

Dre Giuseppina Laura Masucci
Département d’oncologie radiologique
Hôpital Notre-Dame du CHUM
1560, rue Sherbrooke est
Montréal QC   H2L 4M1
giuseppina.laura.masucci@umontreal.ca

Université Laval Québec

Dre Marie-Anne Froment
Intérim

Dalhousie University, Halifax

Dr. David Bowes
Department of Radiation Oncology
Nova Scotia Cancer Centre
Room 2200, Dickson Building
QEII Health Sciences Centre, VGHS
1276 South Park Street
Halifax NS B3H 2Y9
david.bowes@cdha.nshealth.ca

 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s